Later Dude.

My good friend and former co-worker Ben is moving back up to New England this coming week. I wrote about his ride last week. Tonight was his last Wednesday night ride with the group so I headed down to the first state again to take in the glory which is White Clay park.

I had professional development and silly meetings all day, and had a bit of time to get some stuff done. At lunch time I was able to pick up an insane amount of laundry that I had done at the cleaners. I think I had thirty dress shirts that I picked up, which I think is insane, but that gives me over a month of work clothes already prepped for the year!

I got out of school as soon as we were able to go and hit the gas towards home. Stella and I got a quick walk around the block and some play time then I saddled up the bike and headed down to White Clay.

I-95 is a nightmare most of the time and tonight was no different. I swear that people that slow down for gentle curves on a highway make me homicidal. If you can not drive safely on a highway, get off of it. You are the problem! Well, I was about to miss my exit and I ended up getting squeezed out of it by someone riding my tail, and others who would not let me in. This was going to cause me to be over 15 minutes late to ride time, so I told them to head out without me. I ended up riding alone for most of the night, but it was perfect because I was pushing myself to move harder than I would of if I were helping out with the intermediate ride. It also allowed me to stop for pictures like this.

HAY!

HAY!

I looked at the time and headed back to the parking lot to see if folks were there, because they often go back to the parking lot around 7. I just so happened to run into Jamie and one of his buddies who just rode back with a guy who broke his collar bone on the ride. We ended up doing a very quick 5 miles instead of standing around waiting for folks. White Clay is the kind of place where you can do a race pace 5 miles after doing 6 or 7 at race pace and want to go out for another 10. It is because of this that folks get lulled into a false sense of security there and end up getting hurt.

We made it back to the parking lot just in time for the rest of the group to make it back. We spent some time shooting the breeze, getting changed, and packing up our bikes.

We met back up at the bar up the street where about 20 of us gathered to have some drinks and hang with Ben and the rest of the crew. As soon as you walk in the door of this place all you can smell is popcorn because there is a huge popcorn machine just dolling out free bowls of the stuff. It is a good idea for passing the time while waiting for a place at the bar, or a table.

The popcorn machine had a creepy quality about it.

The popcorn machine had a creepy quality about it.

I do have to admit that I was not good on the food tip tonight. I did not eat anything but a small single serving of unsweetened applesauce and a string cheese from about 11am, and I was ravenous by the time we sat down at the bar. I downed a few glasses of water, but then ordered the chicken cheese stake and ate the fries that came with it. Oops…but that was the worst I have been all week so far, which is good for me. Also, one of the trail-spinners made a going away cake for Ben, so of course I had a very small piece of it, and I even gave away my icing, which I know is sick, but I guess somewhere along the way will help.Sorry the photo is dark, but it is Ben cutting the cake. It was really dark in there, and the flash made him look like a ghost.

like a fat kid loves cake

like a fat kid loves cake

My favorite part of the night was when my only working headlight died while I was still in Delaware. Thank god I had high beams and my fog lights, or I would have been stuck there. I guess I gotta pick some up tonight.

Leave a Reply

