Triple Crown of Kensignton Night #1

Well lots of stress for not much mess. II thought the night really went well. No one got really hurt, some people won some money, and I did not go to jail, which in my world is a great night.

We had a turn out of about 27 more people than I thought I would get for a total of 33 racers. There was a mix of bikes, personalities, and fitness levels, but everyone seemed to have fun.

After my flyering of the Hill Billy Hustle and talking to a bunch of people there, I guess the word got around that we were doing this race. People were excited by it, and it showed that we needed something like this due to the number and quality of folks that showed up to race and volunteer.

The night started out when Ed, Nathan, and Jamie getting to the venue before me, but they are the core group I was expecting to see out there anyway, and then Warren from Iron Studio showed up and a messenger guy came along, then just people coming from all over just swarmed on the place. Spoke cards out and $5 in, we were getting ready to race. We determiend that if someone showed up with a trainer they automatically lose, but never the less people were warming up and taking it pretty seriously. Charlie even remarked “no one told me this was going to be serious!

With the pee-wee football done, over, and the wind blowing the racers over, We went for a quick loop of the course. Seeing that many people snake over this silly thing I thought up was pretty sweet. We were on the start line when Lenore showed up with a nail sticking through her tire. Riding in the city can be a real pita sometimes. With a new tube, and some help from Harlan, we were ready to start.

This will be as famous as the clunkers picture.

This will be as famous as the clunkers picture.

Lenore using a nail through her tire as a chiller for the rest of the womans field.

Lenore using a nail through her tire as a chiller for the rest of the womans field.

These folks were off quickly, and the barriers that I built on Tuesday night were destroyed by the first group trying poorly to bunny hop them.

Barrier arms on my bench. It is neater than it looks there.

Barrier arms on my bench. It is neater than it looks there.

From that point on, the only problem was the neighborhood folks who sat on the wall that I was going to use as part of the course and all of the flats that people got. I think more than half of them came from poor bunny hops, or trying to ride the one concrete barrier instead of hopping it, because when I asked who had a confirmed glass flat, I only got one hand.

Hanging in the pit area.

Hanging in the pit area.

Bikey Not Worky

Bikey Not Worky

These guys stood near the barriers and heckled the riders coming through, but also remarked how it was so cool that they could go so fast for so long.

FISHTOWNS FINEST

FISHTOWNS FINEST

The race ended with the same group that was off the front lasted most of the race. Good work to those folks. The guys winner got $73 and the womans winner got $35. Not because we are unfair, there were only 5 woman racing! I gave out some stuff outta my parts bin, but most of it came back to me, so I will give it away some other time. We also raised about $60 that will go to the Livestrong Foundation!

While cleaning up for the night and tossing the barriers, I found this busted up baby doll in the trash that I thought would go perfect in the Keswick Cycle Sprinter van.

Jordy, Harlan, and Trashy 1 legged baby doll. A wonderful family!

Jordy, Harlan, and Trashy 1 legged baby doll. A wonderful family!

I think that picture really sums up how fun this race was, and cyclocross is intended to be. See yah next week.

Leave a Reply

