Sunday Morning Coming Down

I had designs on heading out of the house to hike up a local cliff to get some great shots of the changing leaves, but the low temperatures, and the overcast clouds were probably going to not give me the camera light that I was looking for. Instead I headed out on a walk along the river trail in my hometown.

Pittston Bench

Pittston Bench

There are some nice places to shoot along there, and the geology there is amazing.

Not a camera trick. The rock is really like that.

Not a camera trick. The rock is really like that.

Under that collapsed rock, is an air shaft where 13 guys escaped their sure death on Jan 22, 1959

Under that collapsed rock, is an air shaft where 13 guys escaped their sure death on Jan 22, 1959. 33 of their buddies were not quite so lucky that day.

How fitting is this graffitti? I have been coming here for years, and never realized that was a stencil. Man that is some dedication.

How fitting is this graffitti? I have been coming here for years, and never realized that was a stencil. Man that is some dedication.

There is just something about a walk on the tracks that really brings me back.

There is just something about a walk on the tracks that really brings me back.

I went down to the river and got some shots of where I Intended to climb to and one of our local bridges.

One early morning.

One early morning.

My Favorite shot of the day.

My Favorite shot of the day.

I got home just in time for the rest of my family to wake up and start their day. Some of the folks who were in town for the wedding wanted to go up to the circle drive in flea market. This place is usually pretty amazing, but with the cold and the rain…you can just take a look and see…

 Not much going on

Not much going on

We went out for lunch, did some more visiting, and then headed back to Philly. On the ride we listened to my favorite team, the Raiders beat up on the Eagles. Stella was very happy to watch the game with me, while snuggled up on the best blanket in the house.

Best Blanket in the house

Best Blanket in the house

We got there just in time to drop our stuff off, watch some more of the game and head off to the Gaslight Anthem show at the troc. We hung out with some good friends and got to see the Loved ones who killed it, then we watched the ball game during Murder by Death and checked out the Gaslight Anthem. They were great, and sounded amazing,

To be a catty girl…their bass player looked like the biggest poser ever, and really needs to work on stage presence, but the rest of them were great. We capped the night off with some late night Chinese food, because we realized that we did not eat anything else the rest of the day.

Comments
3 Responses to “Sunday Morning Coming Down”
  1. Jenelle says:

    Such a nice mix of Philly/Wilkes-Barre!

    There is definitely something about hanging out on railroad tracks that reminds me of youth. Where in Pittston did you take the photos? I’d like to explore there in the near future before it gets too cold!

    Also: Mai Lai Wah.. SO good. Do ask for the special soup menu? That’s the best.

  2. surlyrider says:

    Hey Janelle,
    thanks for checking it out. That trail is right behind Coopers in Pittston. It is flat and gravel. It is nice for a jog along. I think it is a bit over a mile long. If you are a geology dork, or just looking for a nice walk, it is a great place to go. I would love for home to get more of this type of stuff. It will make life there much better. I added your blog to my blog roll.
    I did not try the soup. I am not a soup guy, but when I do get it, it is great.

  3. 100poundsago says:

    Gaslight Anthem….jealous with a capital “J” they are not even close to my normal musical taste but I love them like I love oxygen.

Leave a Reply

