Now that is done!

Last night was the 2nd night of the Triple Crown of Kensington cyclocross series and I can not say that the high I feel today was the same as two weeks ago. I am a numbers guy, and I really had high hopes that last night was going to have more folks show up. I do not know if it was the phillies, the date change, or maybe my lack of internet promotion this week, but we had a bunch less folks than we had before. That is not to say that the feeling was not amazing! The folks that came out really knew what this was all about and knew how to have a good time.

We had some folks remember that this is actually for a charity and something fun to do, and they ended up giving extra money to the cause, which was amazing and I am deeply grateful to them. Just so we all know, the triple crown race has already donated $80 to the livestrong foundation, and I plan on donating more!

I designed a different course than last time, which I feel is a bit more of a challenge to the riders and more fun to watch. I also enjoy watching how folks make their own lines that I never though of. The twists and turns as well as the sprints really keep each rider on their toes and do not let them settle in too much, which is different than the first week where we were pretty much going in straight lines all of the time.

I had some spectators who also volunteered to work the race, which is the best. It gave me a chance to be out on course and see how the whole thing was working. I was able to correct some of the issues around the course, and thought of new ideas as I was out there.

Jay and I also set up some dollar premes around the course for folks to grab. Jordy ended up walking away with $6 just from stopping to get them!

Our winners for the night were Jordan K (who we have come to discover share some random, but very good mutual friends!) and Nikki Theiman who was on Jordans wheel after the first half of the race, and I don’t think ever let off the gas.

Jordan and Nikki

Jordan and Nikki

As in other weeks, I am going to make refinements like buying some course markers, and some getting some other prizes than cash. I think a parts grab for the top three or four works. Last night we gave away $17 to each of the winners, a  pre=”a “>Charmical Training DVD, Selle Italia Flite saddle, and Fuji branded saddle. Not bad for paying $5 to race your bike!

Drew Flatted and got some post race lubrication

Drew Flatted and got some post race lubrication

The true spirit of this race. Dude showed up last week and was ready to go. He is the unofficial winner from the rain delayed week 2.

WINNER!

WINNER!

I think Jay’s shirt says it best.

The always classy Jay. T.

The always classy Jay. T.

After the race was over, I headed home to watch the Phillies make their way to their consecutive drumming of the Dodgers for the National League champs. I don’t know how anyone could hav doubted this team. They are the new Big Red Machine. We watched the game and then headed to Modell’s during the 8th inning to check out the folks and the gear who showed up at midnight to partake in the new Phils gear.

It was like a party in Modells

It was like a party in Modell's

I picked up some stuff for me and my buddy Oliver. He got a hand delivery of his shirt and it went something like this.

Old Shirt

Old Shirt

NEW shirt

NEW shirt

Oliver did all of this in the middle of a party at his house and he was well lubricated for this event. I got rid of the rest of the pics of him changing. No one needs to see that! I think Olivers celebration sums up  how the city feels about the Phills right now!
By the way, the old shirt is the Black James shirt from Joel and the folks at outlaw printing. They make the best Phils gear, and Joel and I were messengers together a few years back. Check em out!
Leave a Reply

