Haul 15 tons and what do you get?

Another 15 tons to haul. I probably got deeper in debt, but I don’t know that yet. The weather muckety mucks have said we are going to  be buried in a foot or more of snow once again. This is the third serious winter storm of this year and is a bit out of the ordinary. I somehow missed the last two storms by being gone away, but it looks like I will be in town for this one, as it is supposed to make a mark on Philly during the work week. Can we get two days off out of this one? We will see.

Through the mist of Jack Frost’s breath I am looking forward to NAHBS. This weekend is going to be the mother load of great bike events for the year. I am really excited for and I have my drool bib ready for all the great bikes on display.

It seems that people are looking for stuff to do while down in Richmond, and I have only really hung out there a number of times, and don’t really know the lay of the land, but I do know of three events that are going down this weekend. There is “Trailicious” Trailicious is a benefit hosted by Richmond MORE to raise funds for the Forest Hill Park trail reroute project. The event will take place Saturday Febraury 27 from 7-11pm at the Capital Ale House downtown Richmond. Free parking is available at 6th and Cary Street deck. Join us for a fun evening of music, socializing and amazing raffle prizes. There will be a local Blue Grass/Americana band, videos of local riding and trail building and did we say amazing raffle prizes ! There may also be a few surprise guest appearances by some local legends. So mark your calendars and bring a few bucks for some raffle tickets. Admission is $10 at the door…………or you can prepay on line.

Sign up today, event is limited to 300 people. Click on the link for tiickets.

We are also having rides around the JRPS and FHP starting on Friday evening and 2 on Saturday. Stop by the Richmond MORE Fan Page on Facebook and/or website.

A day time fixed freestyle event is also going on Saturday. It is spectator friendly, and I will probably try to stop by to do some video and photo stuff.


I think fixed gear freestyle is one of the dumbest “sports” ever. If you are going to do freestyle tricks six inches off the ground on a bike that is not built for it, why not just use a BMX bike and go bigger? It is not that the sport is made better by using a bike with a fixed wheel, it just complicates and deminisehs the tricks. It is akin to peeling vegetables while skiing. The vegetable peeling is no more interesting, but done poorly  just because you are making it more complicated. Do you know what I mean?

If you are into it, there is a movie with some good fixed gear freestyle and other riding. I am more impressed with the camera work, but that is my opinion.

I will see you there, and I will keep you updated on the other stuff that will be happening as I hear about it.

Comments
3 Responses to “Haul 15 tons and what do you get?”
  1. prolly says:

    “I think fixed gear freestyle is one of the dumbest “sports” ever. If you are going to do freestyle tricks six inches off the ground on a bike that is not built for it, why not just use a BMX bike and go bigger? It is not that the sport is made better by using a bike with a fixed wheel, it just complicates and deminisehs the tricks. It is akin to peeling vegetables while skiing. The vegetable peeling is no more interesting, but done poorly just because you are making it more complicated. Do you know what I mean?”

    You should come out to his event. Here’s what happened at the last one that went down:

    • surlyrider says:

      My jaw dropped on that one. I have to admit I was impressed. I have been at a few events where there was some impressive fixed gear freestyle riding. The majority of the fixed gear freestyle riding I see is still a few silly barspins and 6-8 inches of air. I am planning on keeping an open mind and hoping that I see more impressive riding as the sport matures.
      By the way, I am a big fan of your site, and I appreciate the stuff you got going on over there. Keep it up.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Pedal 2 has changed locations. You may have seen a different location for the premier in a previous post, but please update your plans if you intend on checking out this movie […]



Leave a Reply

