Roll em if you got em

With the impending snowicaine or whatever they are calling these things bearing down upon la casa de surlyrider, the smarter lot of the bunch that lives there suggested that I change my plans and drop our four legged cohabitator off at her parents house a day earlier. They watch the little girl while we try to get some time away. They love having a dog around the place, and she has tons of country to run around in.

The only problem with dropping her off, is that it is just about an hour each way. I am a road vet, so a two hour turn around ain’t nothing for me. Plus, if I took the right route, it would bring me right past Triumph Brewery in New Hope, Pa, where there were some roller races going on! I actually did have this timed exactly right. When I dropped Stella off, I had just enough time to get back to the scheduled pro race.

This event is part of a series of roller races that is benefiting the Young Survivors Collolioton.YSC is the premier international organization dedicated to the critical issues unique to young women and breast cancer. YSC works with survivors, caregivers and the medical, research, advocacy and legislative communities to increase the quality and quantity of life for women diagnosed with breast cancer ages 40 and under.

I am all for saving the boobies, so I made my way over there to check it out. There was a much bigger crowd than I had expected as I thought I was there sort of late, but these folks really know how to party, and they were throwing it down on the bikes. With a quick scan of the room, I was able to ascertain that everyone in the room is faster than me. There were national champions, some series crushers, local hammerheads, and an olympian thrown in for good measure. THen as I went back to the bar to grab a drink, I turned around and saw…

All of these trainers set up next to the bar with folks in skin suits. I am used to going to these races and seeing some unwashed hipster wanna be stretching their ultralowrise/tight fit pants over a saddle, not freaking skin suits!

Skin suits and all, these folks really had the spirit of a true roller race.

The fun went on for much longer than I had anticipated, and I am glad that I stuck around to see some of the faster folks around really throw down in such a fun environment. Even the bell laps were rung on a beer keg.

There were side bets, some challenges that were off the record and tons of fun. The YSC raised a bunch of cash, we saw some great racing, and folks got get out of the basement to ride bikes at a bar in the middle of the winter.

In case you were wondering, Bobby Lea is faster than you

There are two more events like this coming up.

2/27 Sat VFW Emmaus,PA

FINALS: 3/6,
The Irish Rogue, NY http://www.theirishrogue.com

Check it out!

I am not one for names and places and all of that stuff. Generally, I will remember someone by their bike way before I will remember their name, so I do not have names on many of the winners, but if you want to let me know who they are, that would be great.

Of course bobby wins and is one of the most humble guys out there.

There are a bunch more pictures on my flickr page. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

